Packing Begins

1990 – I spent all my time thinking about Sturgis and preparing for this trip.  It was like every time I said the word Sturgis, a bright light shown down on me.  It was heavenly.  My pre-packing continued.  I had leather pants, bandanas, blue jeans, black jeans, t-shirts, full-sized gloves, fingerless gloves, and shoes all beginning to line up against a wall in our bedroom.  Periodically I’d check all my items to make sure I wasn’t missing anything.  Army green shoes to match my brown and green t-shirts, check.  Brown shoes for backup, check.  Black shoes to coordinate with my black t-shirts, check.  Black boots, check.  Tennis shoes, check.  Sandals, check.  Oh my!

Days before departure, a thousand times, I packed and repacked my luggage, a military style duffle bag. When it was time to pack for real, I was ready.  First I lined my duffle bag with a garbage bag so if it rained my stuff wouldn’t get wet.  Then, I packed my clothes, shoes and toiletries.  The duffle bag filled up fast and it was pretty heavy.  My guess is it weighed at least 50 lbs.  Luckily, I had soft side saddle bags for overflow where I put all of my necessary Academy purchased items.  I rolled the tent up in my sleeping bag and attached it to the handlebars under my headlight.  I was ready.

Tip Number 5:  I do not recommend packing anything on your forks or handlebars.  I don’t know what I was thinking.  Luckily, I did not encounter any problems.

3 thoughts on “Packing Begins

      • Motorcycle Gloves, Whoops, with re: to my last comment, I thought you were commenting on my recent video on packing chaps. Now, I’m really happy to see you’ve read my Sturgis saga, which by the way is not completed. That trip was my maiden voyage where I learned so much about riding. Can’t wait to get back to finishing the story. Hope you stay tuned. If you get a chance, pop over to the video section of MMB and check out the video tips. They are a hoot … and information, too.

Leave a Reply

